Notre Dame HPS Welcomes Three Distinguished Faculty

Author: Jessica Baron

The History and Philosophy of Science graduate program now boasts 27 members of its faculty. New additions include Celia Deane-Drummond (Theology), Anjan Chakravartty (Philosophy), and Laura Dassow Walls (English), all of whom joined the faculty last year, and all of whom bring exciting new expertise and course offerings to the HPS program.

Celia Deane-Drummond

Celia Deane-Drummond is a distinguished theologian who came to Notre Dame from the University of Chester where she was a Professor in Theology and the Biosicences. She is the author/editor of numerous books, recently Ecotheology (2008), Seeds of Hope: Facing the Challenge of Climate Justice (2009), and Religion and Ecology in the Public Sphere (2011). Her research interests include systematic theology in its relationship with creation and the natural world as understood by science; and bioethics, particularly environmental ethics, genetics and ethics, animal ethics, global development, end of life questions, transhumanism.

In October 2011, Deane-Drummond was awarded a Senior Fellowship to lead the Project in Human Nature and Evolution at Princeton University's Center for Theological Inquiry. She will be in residence at Princeton from September 2012-June 2013 to lead a team of eight scholars and two postdoctoral fellows in an exploration of "how new research in evolutionary biology, psychology, and anthropology is challenging and changing understandings of human nature and development, particularly in relation to religion and theological accounts of the human condition." (Click here or here for more information.)

Laura Walls new photo

Laura Dassow Walls, a scholar of 19th century American literature and culture, joined the Notre Dame faculty in fall 2011 as the William P. and Hazel B. White Professor of English. She came to Notre Dame from the University of South Carolina, where she was the John H. Bennett, Jr., Professor of Southern Letters. Walls specializes in American Transcendentalism—especially Henry David Thoreau and Ralph Waldo Emerson, transatlantic romanticism, literature and science, and environmental literature and ecocriticism.

Her distinguished publications include Seeing New Worlds: Henry David Thoreau and Nineteenth-Century Natural Science and Emerson’s Life in Science: The Culture of Truth. Her latest book, The Passage to Cosmos: Alexander von Humboldt and the Shaping of America won the Modern Language Association’s James Russell Lowell Prize, the Organization of American Historians’ Merle Curti Award for the best book in American intellectual history, and the Michelle Kendrick Memorial Book Prize from the Society for Literature, Science, and the Arts. To read more about Dassow Walls, click here.

Anjan Chakravartty

Anjan Chakravartty is a philosopher of science and metaphysics. He came to Notre Dame from the University of Toronto, where he was Director of the Institute for the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology.

Chakravartty focuses his research on the philosophy of science and metaphysics, including topics in the philosophy of physics and biology. He became the editor of Studies in History and Philosophy of Science in January of 2012, and the journal now resides at Notre Dame. Chakravartty’s latest book, A Metaphysics for Scientific Realism: Knowing the Unobservable, won the Canadian Philosophical Association’s biennial book prize in 2009.

For more information on the arrival of Anjan Chakravartty, see here.