Center Director Anjan Chakravartty Wins Values-Driven Leadership Award

Author: Jessica Baron

Reilly Center Director Anjan Chakravartty has been recognized by Benedictine University’s Center for Values-Driven Leadership (CVDL) with one of three new awards in values-driven leadership, to be granted biennially by the CVDL. “These awards are an important way of recognizing exceptional, values-driven leaders who have a transformative impact on business and society,” says Dr. Jim Ludema, director of the Center for Values-Driven Leadership.

Anjan Chakravartty

Faculty, students, and alumni of the CVDL’s executive Ph.D./D.B.A. Program in Values-Driven Leadership made nominations and helped to select the honorees. Chakravartty was awarded the Values-Driven Leadership Award, "Awarded to an external scholar or practitioner, associated with the CVDL, who has exemplified values-driven leadership throughout Values-Driven Leadership."

Chakravartty is a Professor of Philosophy at the University of Notre Dame. He has been the Editor of Studies in History and Philosophy of Science since 2012, and Director of the John J. Reilly Center for Science, Technology, and Values since 2014.

In honoring Chakravartty, students noted his ability to clearly explain complicated philosophical perspectives, incorporating values-driven approaches into all he does.

The awards will be presented at a May 14 brunch honoring graduating students of the Ph.D./D.B.A. Program in Values-Driven Leadership, for senior executives. In addition to the honor, award winners will receive a plaque, and their photo will be displayed as part of a Values-Driven Leadership Hall of Fame, to open in November 2016.