2020 James T. Cushing Memorial Prize in History and Philosophy of Physics - Call for Nominations

Author: Char Brecevic

We are pleased to announce the call for nominations for the 2020 Cushing Prize in History and Philosophy of Physics.

Eligible for nomination are works by what we term “younger scholars,” meaning individuals who are within five years of the receipt of the Ph.D, and work in any area of the history and philosophy of physics may be nominated.

Nominations should include a letter explaining the significance of the work that is being nominated, along with a copy of the work, in the case of an individual paper or set of papers, or a complete citation in the case of a book. Please also provide a copy of the nominee’s current cv. The deadline for the receipt of nominations is Sunday, March 15, 2020. Nominations should be sent to: cushpriz@nd.edu.

The winner will be announced on April 15, 2020.

The prize winner will receive a $2,000 prize and an invitation to deliver a prize lecture at the University of Notre Dame in the Fall of 2020.

Questions about the prize or the nomination process should be directed to either Don Howard (dhoward1@nd.edu) or Mike Schneider (schneider.michael.d@gmail.com).

Additional information about the prize, including a list of previous winners, can be found at: https://reilly.nd.edu/history-and-philosophy-of-science/cushing-prize/

The Cushing Prize Committee:

Feraz Azhar, University of Notre Dame
David Baker, University of Michigan
Jeremy Butterfield, Cambridge University
Adam Caulton, Oxford University
Neil Dewar, University of Munich
Hans Halvorson, Princeton University
Don Howard, University of Notre Dame
Eleanor Knox, Kings College London
Cyrus Mody, Maastricht University
Nic Teh, University of Notre Dame
Giovanni Valente, Polytechnic University of Milan
Charlotte Werndl, University of Salzburg