In honor of James T. Cushing and his contributions to the history and philosophy of physics, an annual prize of $2000 will be awarded for significant new work by younger scholars in the history and philosophical foundations of modern physics. 


2016 Prize Awarded to Dr. Adam Caulton, assistant professor at the Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy

Previous Winners

More details on the 2018 call for nominations coming soon!

Contributions to the endowment for the prize are being accepted at: 

Cushing Memorial Prize
Program in History and Philosophy of Science
University of Notre Dame
453 Geddes Hall
Notre Dame, Indiana 46556

For more information, please contact Darrin Snyder Belousek at 419-221-1856 or Don Howard at 574-631-7547 or