Phillip R. Sloan Prize

Phillip Sloan is a Reilly Faculty Fellow, and an emeritus Professor in the History and Philosophy of Science Ph.D. program, the Department of History, and the Program in Liberal Studies. He served as Director of the Reilly Center for Science, Technology, and Values from 1997-1999, an important period in its history, overseeing significant growth in programs and activities. He also served as Director of the Ph.D. program in the History and Philosophy of Science from 1994-1997, and has been a leader and supporter of the undergraduate minor in Science, Technology, and Values, a program that continues to reflect his vision for and commitment to undergraduate education.

In honor of this extraordinary exemplar of all that the Reilly Center does and stands for, the Center has established the Phillip R. Sloan Prize. A $500 prize will be awarded annually to one graduate student who embodies Prof. Sloan's commitment to scholarship and (as of 2015) to one undergraduate student who in some special way embodies the mission and core values of the Reilly Center.

Click for more information about Prof. Phillip Sloan

Past winners of the Sloan Prize:

Pablo Ruiz de Olano

2011: Pablo Ruiz de Olano


Charles Pence

2012: Charles Pence




2013: Manuela Fernández Pinto

Stephen Case

2014: Steve Case 

Uma Avinash


2014: Uma Avinash

Laura Bland

2015: Laura Bland


Screen Shot 2016 08 17 At 2

2016: Monica Solomon


2016: Liesl Schroedl


Jeremy Steeger

2017: Jeremy Steeger